The Prime Ministers Series 

How does transformative change happen in government? The Prime Ministers Series—a partnership between the University of Ottawa Professional Development Institute and the Canada School of Public Service —highlights transformative policy initiatives of Canadian prime ministers. The purpose of this annual day-long event is to inform, educate and inspire policy makers and public service leaders to conceive and deliver change. The series begins with the Right Honourable Brian Mulroney and will be followed in 2020 by the Right Honourable Jean Chrétien.

Delivering Transformative Change for Canadians with
the Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney

The 2019 conference will interactively explore four nation-building initiatives with those who were close to the action, facing not only tough choices but fierce resistance:

  • Tax Reform: Replacing the Manufacturers’ Sales Tax with the Goods and Services Tax (GST) and other tax measures
  • A Green Canada: Environmental leadership in challenging fiscal circumstances
  • Canada–U.S. Free Trade Agreement: From idea to agreement to implementation
  • North American Free Trade Agreement: Securing a place in the hub of the continental trade wheel


Event information

This special event is offered to all public servant groups and levels and to the general public. The registration fee of $395 per person (plus HST) includes lunch.

Date and time:         March 5, 2019 | 8:45 am to 4:30 pm (EST)
Location:                        Shaw Centre, 55 Colonel By Drive, Trillium Ballroom, Ottawa, Ontario

Speakers:                 Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney, former Prime Minister of Canada

                                             Michael Wernick, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet

                                 Some of the panelists include:

                                 Meriel Bradford, President, Snowberry Investments Ltd., former member
                                 Canadian International Trade Tribunal and former Services Negotiator,
                                 FTA, GATT and NAFTA            

                                 Derek Burney, Senior Strategic Advisor, Norton Rose Fulbright, 
                                 former Canadian ambassador to the United States

                                 Hon. Jean Charest, Partner, McCarthy Tétrault law firm, former
                                 federal Minister of the Environment and Premier of Quebec

                                 Tom D'Aquino, Chairman of Intercounsel Ltd, former President of the
                                 Canadian Council of Chief Executives

                                 Dr. Laura Dawson, Director of the Wilson Center's Canada Institute

                                 David Dodge, Senior Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP,  former Deputy
                                 Minister of Finance and Governor of the Bank of Canada

                                 Reverend Canon Laurette Glasgow, Special Advisor for Government
                                 Relations for the Anglican Church of Canada, former Canadian
                                 Ambassador and trade negotiator

                                 David Graham, Vice-President Academic and Provost, University of Ottawa

                                 Fen Osler Hampson, Distinguished Fellow, Director of CIGI's Global Security &
                                 Politics program, Chancellor’s Professor at Carleton University,
                                 author of Master of Persuasion

                                 Elizabeth May, MP for Saanich-Gulf Islands and former Policy Advisor
                                 to the Minister of the Environment during the Mulroney administration       

                                 Barbara McDougall, Chair of Global Panel America, Former Minister of  
                                 State for Privitization, Minister Employment and Immigration, Minister
                                 Responsible for the Status of Women, and Secretary of State for
                                 External Affairs        

                                 James McIlroy, Lead McIlroy & McIlroy, former Senior Policy Advisor to
                                 Minister of International Trade for the Canada-United States Free Trade
                                 Agreement and the North American Free Trade Agreement

                                 Dr. Jacline Nyman, Vice-President External Relations, University of

                                 William Pristanski, Founder and Principal at Prospectus Associates and
                                 Chair of the Terry Fox Foundation, former Executive Assistant to 
                                 Brian Mulroney and Chief of Staff to the Minister of the Environment

                                 Michael Sabia, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Caisse
                                 de dépôt et placement du Québec, Former Deputy Secretary to the  
                                 Cabinet of the Privy Council Office and Director General of Tax Policy 
                                 at Finance Canada

                                   Taki Sarantakis, President, Canada School of Public Service

                                 Robert Slater, Adjunct Professor in Environmental Policy and President, 
                                 of Coleman, Bright and Associates and Former Senior Assistant
                                 Deputy Minister at Environment Canada

                                   with more to follow. Visit our website regularly.


Language:                      Bilingual

Registration:                 Select <Register> in upper right-hand corner. 

Information:                  For further information, please contact or
                                             call 613-562-5802.


The Prime Ministers Series

Delivering Transformative Change for Canadians with the Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney

March 5, 2019 (8:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.)
$395 (plus tax)

Back to top